Skip to content

Mandi Moss finds ideal weekend to go topless in Forbidden Zone

June 4, 2010

A theatrical adaptation of the 1982 Elfman cult classic, Forbidden Zone, is on stage at Sacred Fools in Los Angeles. “People know the movie for two reasons,” says Mandi Moss, who understudies Erin Holt in the Princess role. “They remember the little guy from Fantasy Island [Herve Villachaize] and the Princess who’s topless throughout the movie. I knew going in that I’d be topless throughout, and for no good reason. And I was totally fine with that. But I thought my mom had been kidnapped by aliens when she told me she was coming to see it.”

Mrs. Moss lives in Florida. “Yeah, she’s flying out to see it.”

When was the last time Moss was topless in front of mom? “Never.”

Moss previously has performed on stage in the buff, and as a pasty-wearing go-go dancer, so being topless isn’t quite new to her. But this weekend marks a first: “My boyfriend’s [adapter Michael Holmes] parents are coming to see it, too. They’ve never met me.”

In the movie, the Princess wears granny underpants and a tiara. That’s it. The play’s not much different, except that Holmes, in his adaptation, has added a couple scenes, some dialogue and songs, “because some of the movie just can’t be translated,” Moss explains. “It’s still in the Oingo Boingo trandition, but there’s music from people like Cab Calloway, a Marlena Dietrich song, Bim, Bam, Boom, and Pico and Sepulveda. The show is really a spectacle.”

And, truth be told, it’s Moss’ first time singing in public. “That makes me more nervous than being half naked! As long as people are looking at my boobs and not listening to me sing, I’ll be fine. The thing is, it’s such a great cast. I miss them so much when I don’t see them. And understudying for Erin has been fantastic. She’s so welcoming. She’s excited to have me there as a partner; doesn’t treat me like a threat. It’s great.”

Scott Leggett directs Forbidden Zone: Live in the 6th Dimension; Ryan Johnson leads the band. More info on the show, including the Richard and Danny Elfman history, and tickets here. Through June 26, 2010. Fridays & Saturdays 2 8pm; plus Sunday, June 13 & 20 @ 7pm. Sacred Fools Theatre 660 N. Heliotrope Drive, Los Angeles.

Leave a Reply

